
PRINTING ERROR/CORRECTION 
 

Rules Book Printing Errors and Corrections 
 1. Page 37, 3-3-10, delete the last sentence that begins, “If there is an excessive….” 
 2. Page 48, Dead Ball Table Awards or Penalties No. 38, rules reference should be 7-4-4. 
 3. Page 53, 6-2-3, the Exception and Note apply to Arts. 1 and 2 and should be moved up to under Art. 2. 
 

SITUATION PLAYS 
Situation 1: B1, B2 and B3 all make outs and no one is aware of the third out. B4 walks; B5 gets a hit; B6 walks to 
load the bases. B7 has a 1-0 count when the mistake is discovered. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Once the official scorebook confirms the three original outs and all are in agreement that three outs oc-
curred, cancel the activity after the third out (unless unsporting conduct, a major infraction or an ejection) and 
start that team’s next at bat with the proper batter had there been no mistake. End the inning; B4 will lead off 
that team’s next at bat. 

(2-31) 
 
Situation 2: The visiting team lists Johnson as the starting pitcher, batting third in the order. Johnson gets a base hit in 
the first and third inning; courtesy runner Adams runs for her both times. With the visiting team leading 6-0, Jones re-
places Johnson as the pitcher in the bottom of the fifth inning. Jones gives up two runs in the bottom of the fifth and 
three runs in the bottom of the sixth inning. In the top of the seventh, with bases loaded, the visiting team’s coach re-
enters Johnson for Jones and tells the umpire, Johnson will pitch the seventh inning. Johnson singles to drive in two 
runs. The coach sends in courtesy runner Adams to run for Johnson What’s your call? 
Ruling: Illegal. Johnson was not the last player to physically play the position of the pitcher, so Adams may not 
run for her. Johnson must run for herself or be replaced by a pinch runner. If she is replaced by a pinch run-
ner, she is no longer eligible to re-enter and pitch the bottom of the seventh. 

(3-3-5; 8-9-2) 
 
Situation 3: R1 is at third and R2 is at first base; B3 steps into the batter’s box. F1 holds the ball for longer than 20 
seconds and the umpire awards a ball to the batter. F1 begins to engage in the same action for the next pitch. What’s 
your call? 
Ruling: As soon as the umpire believes that F1 is attempting to intentionally walk B3, F1 will be directed to 
pitch and both F1 and the head coach will be issued a warning. The umpire should be able to detect after one 
“timing” violation F1’s intent to intentionally walk the batter. If F1 does not pitch, she and the head coach shall 
be restricted to the dugout/bench or ejected. COMMENT: A player/team cannot violate one rule to circumvent 
another; this makes a travesty of the game and is NOT within the spirit of fair play. 

(3-6-13c & penalty; 6-2-3) 
 
Situation 4: R1 is on first base with no outs and attempts to steal second base on a pitch to B2. B2 bunts the ball in fair 
territory directly in front of the plate. B2 heads for first base and as the catcher picks up the ball and is getting ready to 
throw to first base, the plate umpire steps forward to make a fair-ball signal and accidentally knocks the ball out of the 
catcher’s hand. By the time the catcher retrieves the ball, both runners are standing on their respective bases. What’s 
your call? 
Ruling: There is no rule provision for calling umpire interference in this situation; the runners are safe. 

(5-2-2c; 8-5-6) 
 
Situation 5: R1 is at second base. B2 hits sharply to center field. The ball could hit the ground or may be caught in 
flight. R1 takes off to third base, as the runner passes the umpire, the umpire cuts to the inside of the field, the coach 
instructs R1 to return as F8made a diving catch. R1 turns around and starts back to second base and runs into the um-
pire. After the collision, she continues back to second and is tagged out. What’s your call? 
Ruling: There is no rule provision for calling umpire interference in this situation. R1 is out. 

(5-2-2C; 8-5-6) 
 
 
 
Situation 6: R1 occupies first base and B2 is at bat with a count of one ball and one strike. On F1’s next pitch, B2 



squares in the batter’s box and holds the bat in a bunting position in the strike zone. The pitch is high and outside the 
strike zone and B1 holds the bat motionless making no offer at the pitch. What’s your call? 
Ruling: A strike is charged to B2 because B2 held the bat in the strike zone as the pitch passed by. 

(2-2-1; 2-56-1) 
 
Situation 7: F1 pitches a ball that is not in the strike zone; B1 squares to bunt and (a) leaves the bat in the strike zone 
without making any movement toward the ball; (b) makes a forward movement of the bat toward the ball; (c) with-
draws the bat prior to the ball entering the plate area. What’s your call? 
Ruling: In (a) and (b), a strike is called on the batter. Holding the bat in the strike zone or making any move-
ment of the bat toward the ball is considered a bunt attempt. In (c) a ball is awarded to the batter; the bat was 
withdrawn from the plate area. 

(2-2-1; 2-56-1) 
 
Situation 8: F1 steps on the pitching plate, brings her hands together and after pausing for one second, removes the 
ball from her glove with her throwing hand and swings her arm backward to approximately shoulder height. She con-
tinues forward in a windmill delivery, releasing the ball the second time it passes her hip. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Legal. The starting point is where F1’s arm started forward (behind her, shoulder height). Even though 
the ball passed her hip twice, F1’s arm did not make more than one and a half clockwise revolutions 

() 
 
Situation 9: F1 stands with both feet on the pitching plate. To start her delivery motion, she brings her hands together, 
tucks them at her waist and swings them upward where she separates her hands at face level. F1 continues around with 
her windmill delivery, passes her hip, continues up over her head, passes her hip a second time and releases the ball. 
What’s your call? 
Ruling: That delivery is illegal. The revolution started when F1 first separated her hands at face level and 
reached one revolution when her hand again passed her face. F1 released the ball the second time past her hip, 
before her hand again reached face level. That delivery exceeds the one and a half revolutions that are permit-
ted and an illegal pitch should be called. 

() 
 
Situation 10: The ball is returned to the pitcher, preparing to pitch, and the batter takes (a) eight, (b) ten or (c) 11 sec-
onds to enter the box. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) and a strike shall be called. 

(7-3-1) 
 
Situation 11: Wit hR1 on second, B2 singles to right field and R1 attempts to score, B3, the on-deck batter, moves 
toward home plate to direct R1 to slide. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Legal. The on-deck batter is allowed to leave the circle to direct runners advancing from third to home 
plate or to avoid interfering with a defensive player’s opportunity to make a play 

(2-5-3; 3-5-5; 8-2-13; 8-6-15) 
 
Situation 12: With R1 on third, F1 throws a wild pitch that deflects toward the on-deck circle. B3, the on-deck hitter, 
does not move and impedes F2 who is attempting to field the ball and make a play on R1. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Because of B3’s interference, R1 is ruled out. The ball is dead 

(2-5-3; 3-5-5; 8-2-13; 8-6-15) 
 
Situation 13: R1 is caught in a rundown between third and home. While returning the third, F5 without the ball, 
blocks R1 and F6 tags the runner. What’s your call? 
Ruling: R1 is awarded the base she would have received, in the judgment of the umpire, had she not been ob-
structed 

(8-4-3b) 
 
 

 
Situation 14: R1 is on second base with one out when B3 hits safely to right field. F9’s throw to the plate draws F2 



into R1’s path just before F2 catches the ball. A non-malicious collision causes F2 to drop the ball and R1 touches the 
plate. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Obstruction is called on F2. The umpire will give the delayed dead ball signal at the time of the obstruc-
tion. R1 would be awarded home if she had not touched it. 

(8-4-3b) 
 
Situation 15: There are no runners on base with two outs; B3 has a count of 3-2. On the next pitch B3 swings and 
misses. The ball bounces off F2’s shin guard and lands in front of home plate. As F2 moves out to field the ball, B3 
runs into her, knocking her down. What’s your call? 
Ruling: That is interference on B3. The umpire would call dead ball and rule the batter-runner out. In addition, 
if there were any runner(s) on base, they would be returned to the last base touched at the time of the interfer-
ence 

() 
 
Situation 16: Members of team A take their positions in the field and all are wearing gloves with (a) two inch by three 
inch American flags; or (b) red, white and blue fingers. What’s your call? 
Ruling: Legal in (a). Illegal gloves in (b). Gloves/mitts may be a maximum of two colors. The illegal gloves are 
removed from the game and the coach is issued a warning. The next player not properly equipped will result in 
the player and head coach being restricted to the dugout/bench for the duration of the game.  

(3-5-1; 3-6-1) 
 
Situation 17: Does the pitcher have to have both feet on the pitching plate? 
Ruling: Prior to the delivery, the pitcher need only have the pivot foot in contact with the pitching plate within 
the 24-inch length of the pitcher’s plate.  

(6-4-1) 
 

Situation 18: With two out and two strikes on B3, F1’s pitch bounces in front of the plate and B3 swings and misses 
for strike three. F2 rolls the ball toward the circle as B3 runs for and arrives safely at first. What’s your call? 
Ruling: B3 is safe at first base because the third strike was not caught by the catcher in flight. The third strike is 
not caught if the pitch bounces before it reaches the plate or contacts the ground after the batter swings and 
misses.  

() 
 

Situation 19: With two outs and two strikes on B3, F1’s pitch bounces in front of the plate and B3 swings and tips the 
ball sharply and directly to F2’s glove and she secures the ball. What’s your call? 
Ruling: B3 is out as F2 caught the tipped ball for a third strike foul tip.  

() 
 

Situation 20: B1 tops a fair ball in front of the plate. F2 fields the ball and starts to throw to first base. However, be-
cause of B1’s position to the left of the foul line in fair territory, F2 withholds her throw in fear of striking B1. What’s 
your call? 
Ruling: For the three-foot lane interference to be called on that play, there must be a throw. Without a throw, 
the batter did not interfere with a fielder’s opportunity to make a play.  

(8-2-5) 


